Skip to main content
Representation in Ireland

Museum of Literature Ireland wins European Heritage award

The Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI) is one of 28 winners of the 2023 European Heritage Awards. The Dublin museum got the award in the 'Citizens’ Engagement and Awareness-raising' category.

Museum of Literature Ireland

The Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI) is a vibrant partnership between University College Dublin and the National Library of Ireland that celebrates Ireland’s literary heritage and inspires future generations to engage with the art of writing and reading. Its approach aims to dismantle elitist perceptions of literature and highlight the unifying power of storytelling and the written (and spoken) word.

Launched in September 2019, the Museum serves as a home for prized artefacts from the Irish State’s literary collections. It explores the wide canon of Irish writing through its permanent and temporary exhibitions. By offering immersive multimedia presentations, maintaining an agile exhibition turnover (with approximately 3-4 new major exhibitions each year), fostering cross-disciplinary collaborations, and hosting a vibrant calendar of public events (both on-site and offline), the Museum of Literature Ireland has succeeded in quickly cultivating a diverse and devoted audience.

“This community museum in Dublin, a UNESCO City of Literature, has established itself as a strong advocate for engagement and inclusivity. It has reached a significant number of participants, including 80,000 listeners for their podcast and 7,500 visitors from schools. The Museum of Literature Ireland actively celebrates diversity and promotes creativity and artistic expression through, for example, their bursaries. The museum’s effort to address the declining interest in literature among young people is commendable, as it ensures that the artform remains accessible and relevant”:

the Awards’ Jury.

MoLI will be presented with their award alongside other winners in a ceremony in Venice in September of this year.

More information

The Europa Nostra awards are the European Commission awards for cultural heritage and promote best practices in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage.

The 2023 Awards, funded by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union, were granted in five categories

  1. Conservation & Adaptive Reuse; 
  2. Research; 
  3. Education, Training & Skills; 
  4. Citizens’ Engagement & Awareness-raising;
  5. Heritage Champions.