Skip to main content
European Commission logo
Representation in Ireland

Introduction to the EU

The European Union is a unique economic and political partnership between 27 European countries and has delivered over half a century of peace, stability and prosperity. 

EU institutions

The EU has a unique institutional set-up. Broad priorities are set by the member governments in regular summits, and decision-making involves a range of institutions, although the 4 main ones are:

More on EU institutions, bodies and agencies

The EU’s decision making processes

Nobel Peace Prize

In 2012, the European Union received the Nobel Peace prize for the stabilising role it has played in transforming most of Europe from a continent of war to a continent of peace; advancing the causes of reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.