Virtual Model Council of the European Union Debate for secondary schools

Thursday, 3 March 2022

Running order

08.15	Schools join between 08.15 and 08.45
09.30	Welcome address: Head of the European Commission Representation in Ireland, Barbara Nolan
09.33	Opening statement: Senator Lisa Chambers
09.38	Introduction by debate chairperson, Martina Fitzgerald
09.40	Opening statements from schools.
	Speaking in turn, each 'Member State' presents its views on the mock proposal.
	The speaking time for each school is limited to one minute .
	From 10.15 to 11.45, teams can speak in any order, but they must indicate to the chairperson when they wish to intervene via the Chat function. The chairperson will try to ensure that each team has an equal amount of speaking time.
10.15	Comments, questions & answers.
	One speaker from each school should give more detail on the 'national' position. They can also comment on the views expressed by the other 'Member States' and ask questions.
	Speaking time is limited to 45 seconds
11.00	15-minute break
11.10	Schools re-join session.
11.15	Debate continues.
	Each team should respond to questions / comments from other 'Member States'.
	Speaking time is limited to 45 seconds
11.45	Closing remarks from schools.
	Each team should make a <u>brief</u> closing statement, indicating again whether the

Speaking time is limited to **45 seconds**.

'Member State' is in favour of or opposed to the proposal.

'Member States' speak in turn, in the same order used for the opening statements.

12.10	The debate chairperson summarises the views of the 'Member States' and then calls on the judges to announce the winners.
12.12	One of the debate judges announces first, second and third place teams.
12.16	Closing speech by Maria Walsh MEP.
12.19	Debate chairperson thanks schools and judges, and announces end of event.
12.20	Event ends